Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

Bix 7 Results 2013

The weather was perfect for fast times and even better memories. Well, that is if you were fortunate to hit the starting line this morning. After 10 years in a row of running my favorite race, the streak came to an end. Yeah, I am a bit sad, however I will look forward to next year’s Bix and will take this time to reflect on some fun moments over the last 10.

10. Seeing Bill Rodgers in jeans 10 minutes before the race and thinking, “Too bad Bill is not running this year, wonder what is wrong with him.” and then having him pass me at the turnaround. I tried to keep up with him for the next mile, which was great hearing the fans yell his name. I pretended my name was Bill to use the extra support as motivation to keep going hard. He eventually did drop me, but I did have my best time that year.

9, The rain year. Hiding under a bank’s overhang to stay dry before the race. Being soaked for most of the race and then a good 1/2 hour after the race at the post race party. Not the best memory, but there is always the most of something race and this was the most drenched race.

8. The Marilyn Monroes. Several ladies all dressed in all white Marilyn outfits running and then dancing at the post race party. Good for a chuckle and a smile every year.

7. Brady Street Hill. Right off the bat a 1/4 mile hill that keeps the disciplined runners honest and the fools in side stitches or worse. Even effort is the key here.

6. Post Race Party. I will admit it was better when they had live bands, yet it still remains the best post race party in the land. Plenty of food and drink to satisfy all that complete the full hilly 7 miles.

(come back tomorrow for the top five)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment