Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

Bix 7 Run Preparation

Living in Mt. Vernon, Ia, I am fortunate enough to be relatively close ( a morning drive to the race) from the Bix 7 road race. Mt. Vernon is hilly, which makes it the perfect locale for training for the Bix. Sweating it out on the hills in and around  MV is a luxury and not a burden. I can’t imagine training for Bix in a city like Chicago where you are lucky to live near a foot bridge with any kind of evaluation to it. I have gone for training runs on the shores of Lake Michigan, which are an awesome sight and very relaxing, but if I want to be prepared for Bix, give me some hills.

Now I have trained in the foot hills of the Rockies in Colorado and I must admit that is where I truly enjoy running the most. Once the kids have grown maybe I will move there, but for now I will take the hills of MV to get me to where I want to go, the finish line at the Bix 7.

(see previous blog for more Bix 7 gushings)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

