Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

So Hot Hot Hot

As I ventured out for a run this morning, my wife asked me, “Is it hot outside? We are supposed to be under a heat advisory through Thursday.” I really didn’t have a good answer for her until I got home from what turned from a 12 mile run into a 9 mile run with some recovery walking thrown in. “Yeah, it’s hot.”

My friend Ivy, who runs sub 3:00 marathon trains in the New Orleans, LA area, so I can’t really complain about the heat and humidity. I will take what I can get for long runs during this most recent heat wave and hope that the suffering done now will result in a prepared runner for the Chicago Marathon on Oct. 9th.

The years I have suffered on long runs have been the years I had my best marathons, so I will stay positive and feed off the confidence and knowledge of the past. Race day will have all the benefits handled to you: Water, Gatorade and GU shots. Maybe an orange slice or banana. Training runs always have less of the good stuff, so race day will always be better, at least we can continue to tell ourselves that.

Keep the positive thoughts and the results will follow.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

