Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

10 Mile Race At Marathon Pace

A last minute decision provides supreme confidence going into the last 2 weeks before Fargo. My hometown had a 10 mile race today. I really didn’t think about running it until I noticed it listed on fitnesssports.com on Thursday. I am so glad I did as I was able to finish in over a minute faster than my goal of 1:12:30 in 1:11:24.

Now I am planning on running a controlled, relaxed pace for Fargo. What today’s race told me is that a controlled, relaxed pace is a 3:10 marathon. For my age group that would be 20 minutes faster than the needed qualifying time for The Boston Marathon. Under the new rules for registration for this year, I would be able to register on day one. Now I am realistic and it has been 4 1/2 years since my last marathon, so I will set a realistic goal of 3:20 for Fargo.

It is now 2 hours after the race, the knee has been iced, but overall I feel great. No soreness and I feel like I could run another 10 easy. We will see if I could run another 16.2 easy. Well, er, we all know that another 16.2 won’t be easy, but I am going to ride this new-found confidence  for all that is worth. Boston here I come.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

