Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

Marathon (I love the sound of it)

The word marathon to me just sounds cool. (pause) Marathon (pause). Maybe its just me. I often get chills just saying or even thinking the word. To me if i don’t have the word in my head I will skip the occasional workout. If marathon is in there than those workouts find a way into the schedule around a whole bunch of other stuff. Balancing work and a very busy kids’ sports schedule isn’t easy, but doable. No matter how busy a schedule there should always be a way to trim the fat off the schedule and your midsection. 

The second part of this blog on the word marathon involves my favorite question that I and most marathon runners get as well, “How long is that marathon you are going to be running?  The official answer is 26.2 miles. I guess I shouldn’t be bothered by the question as it would be like me asking a mechanic how many quarts of oil does a 8 cylinder engine take? or asking a Star Wars Fan Chubacca is a what?

Not everyone is a marathon geek like me, so I guess I have to deal with it, but on October 9th in Chicago I can relish in my geekdom with 40,000 plus others of similar geekatude.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Marathon (I love the sound of it)

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more on the word Marathon… I have had moments where just thinking of the word, or visualizing a race, has brought me to tears ! It is a great accomplishment…

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

