Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

Just Do It (Say No to Soda Pop)

Whether it be sugared pop/soda or diet, either will cause problems over the long haul. I have been addicted to sugared pop for most of my adult life. This summer I quit drinking sugared pop. Along with my running program, i lost 29 lbs over 3 months dropping to 206 on a 6’1″ frame. In the last month I have been stuck at the 205-207 range.

My brother visited 2 weeks ago and convinced me to quit diet pop, which I used to replace the sugared (or high fructose corn syrup) variety. He told me about aspartame which is an ingredient in diet pop and sugar substitute.  According to his on-line research, Aspartame confuses the brain, which leads to increased hunger. I will let you do your own research on the specifics. As far as my life since I quit the diet pop; I have felt better overall, both physically and mentally. I have been sleeping better due to the lack of caffiene. The big bonus has been an additional 4 pounds lost. It may not seem like a lot, but quitting diet pop is the only change in my diet since I hit that 206 plateau.

This may not be a controlled scientific study, however if you do your own research, you may just lose weight and feel better overall. I have never heard anyone say quitting drinking pop/soda would be a bad thing, except for maybe stockholders of  Pepsi and Coke.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

