Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

Quit?

The idea of giving up sickens me. Setting the goal of running a marathon and not being able to follow is unthinkable. I need to find a way to have my knee be stable enough to complete the task at hand.

Today I hit the stationary bike for 30 minutes at lunch. I then hit the heavy and speed bags for a boxing workout after work for an hour and 10 minutes. I will try to run tomorrow on a soft surface (gravel probably) and see if I can avoid the knee instability.

This issue with my knee is a classic trick knee type situation. My knee feels great, but I don’t know when the sharp pain and slippage will occur. Before last week, I thought those days were over. It had been almost 5 years since the last uprising of the issue. Last time the bike worked well to balance the quads to the hamstrings. I tend to run way more than any other exercise working those hams and neglecting the quads. My problem lately maybe that I haven’t been hitting the hills, which tend to employ the quads when the flats neglect the same.

We will see if the adjustments will put me back on course. I am not ready to quit!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

