Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

18 Miler

The heat and humidity were up from last week causing more fluid loss on my long run this morning. The first 10 miles were fine at 8:30 pace. The last 8 were a blow up and an extreme effort to complete.

I did the first 10 on an out and back. Refueled on gatorade and a GU pack then headed back out, but the fuel didn’t sit right so I walked for a while during the 11th mile. I was able to recover for a 4 mile out and back. More Gatorade and water then back out for the last 4 miles. More walking, but I was able to run for 80% of time and finish strong on the last 1/2 mile. Mentally I went back and forth whether to deem this run a success. I do feel that race day should be cooler and the aid stations closer together than what I experience in training. I will put this training run on the plus side for that reason as it was a less that ideal day for PR type performance.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

