Run440plus's Blog

from one runner to another pass it on

Guts

It is simply not enough to go out and run with your tunes in your ears and try to block out the pain. If you truly want to set a high goal and gun for it, you must own the pain in training. Push yourself on every other run if you are running everyday. To run a sub 3:20 marathon or what ever your Boston Marathon Qualifying time would be, you need feel the pain in training. There are no if-ocks and-ocks or but-ocks about it.

When I was in my mid thirties I could run races in pain the whole way. Somewhere along the line the Ipod came out and the desire to run guts out went away. Now I have taken on 4 training partners and the Ipod has stayed home. We are able to push each other and that feeling of running through the pain is coming back. I still run 3 times a week alone to push myself mentally and physically without the boost of outside assistance.

With the revived desire, a Boston Qualifying time is only a spring 2011 marathon away.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Guts

  1. I couldn’t agree more! I ran Boston this past year and I paid the price and sold out on every run possible. Even when I didn’t feel like training or doing that LONG RUN I knew I was going to dread I did it anyway because knew it would be the only way to try and reach the goal! The moral to the story, if I can do it anyone can do it by selling out and believing in yourself.

Leave a Reply

